BS Health Insurance Boondoggle

This is a continuation regarding yesterday’s post if this one seems odd or unclear.

I’ve decided to take matters into my own hands and not rely on the crazies to resolve my lost payment issue. I do not want my bank to reimburse me (yes they were actually willing to do that!) and have me double-pay the BS (Blue Shield) insurance company. So I’m having the bank fax proof of the payment to them. Hopefully this will resolve it. I don’t care if my measly payment amount is insignificant enough to the insurance company or my bank that they would allow that. I want it done right. Is that too much to ask?

Could not log onto either the bank’s website or the BS insurance company’s. Thought maybe it was my computer. So I restarted it and cleaned out my cache. Still no luck. So when I called BS insurance company, the customer service guy said (and I quote), “Don’t bother. It’s unreliable.” banghead

3 responses to “BS Health Insurance Boondoggle

  1. For what it’s worth, Pam, I will tell you that I have Blue Shield Medigap. I have them deduct it from my bank account every month. It’s been over three years now, and I’ve never had a problem with it.

    • Well Joseph, I’m happy that it has worked out for you to do so without issue. You seem to be unique in that respect. It’s been over a month, I’ve sent several faxes of my proof of payment from the bank, mailed a letter with copies of it, and have made several phone calls (that have involved countless hours on hold and conversations with people that have a limited command of English, make promises and never return calls). The last “manager” I talked to said there have been numerous issues they have yet to resolve with people who have made electronic payments through their banks and have obtained their policies through the “exchange” from Covered California. I cannot of good conscience or sound mind allow a situation that would give access to my bank accounts by this unscrupulous outfit. Whatever confidence I might have had in Blue Shield of CA has been severely damaged after reading the comments on their Facebook Page by subscribers who have far worse problems than I do.

  2. UPDATE: My “lost” payment was finally credited to my account on April 10 –almost three months after I sent it to Blue Shield of CA. YAY! And on my anniversary no less! My husband had nothing to do with it except sending good vibes. It worked!