Counting Down the Hours

T-minus 19 hours and counting!  That’s about the time until my plane leaves tomorrow morning bound for New York City.  I’m so excited I could burst!  I’m still wondering how I got thrown into the mix of fabulous designers that are privileged to have been chosen for an all-expense-paid trip to NYC to participate in Brizo’s Fashion Week activities that includes a runway show by designer Jason Wu to be followed by a private cocktail party.  Woo hoooo! — Wu who? Jason Wu that’s who!  (You know the one that designed Michelle Obama’s inaugural ball gown michelle-obama-jason-wu-white-dress-inauguration-ball  and has gowns featured in Brizo’ ads red-sm .)  Part of Brizo’s program has us dining at Charlie Palmer’s Metrazur at Grand Central Station that is within walking distance from our hotel.  I’m very excited to see that beautifully renovated building.  grand-central-station-new-york

Not all of our time there is pre-scheduled.  The emails have been buzzing with plans for other activities some of our group has organized such as deciding on dinner plans at one of the nearby restaurants.  We are staying at the 70 Park Avenue Hotel in the heart of Manhattan so there are a number of wonderful places to pick from. I think Jamie Goldberg, designer and author of Gold Notes blog, has nailed down reservations at Che Josephine!  Fellow blogger/designer Paul Anater has been working with appliance showroom owner, Debbie Schaeffer of Mrs. G’s Appliances in Princeton, NJ, has organized a trip to the GE Monogram’s flagship showroom in the Architect’s and Designer’s Building where we will have breakfast and a tour of the facility.

The biggest obstacle right now is –you guessed it!  SNOW  The Urban Dictionary’s word for today:  snowpocalypse

snow + apocalypse = snowpocalypse
When weathermen predict large amounts of snowfall in a short period of time.  I’ve even heard the president uses that phrase.  Not a good sign…

In this case, causing delays into LaGuardia where I’m scheduled to land (ultimately).  I may find myself ‘enjoying’ a little more of DFW (Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport) than I’d hoped.  (Been there done that –I used to live 10 minutes away from DFW for about 2 1/2 years.)  I seriously hope I don’t get delayed too long.  My Thursday is still ‘unscheduled’ until the afternoon, so I was hoping I’d get a chance to do a little exploring on my own.  I’m bringing my digital camera and thinking I’d like to take some “New York-in-the-snow pictures”. 

So, delays or no –I’m ready to go:

Coat, gloves and boots –check

Camera, cell phone and laptop –check

Dressy casual outfit –check

Event agenda, travel details, etc. –check

Don’t think I’ve forgotten anything… I’m sure there will be something. (There always is.) 

I’m really excited to see the design trends that Brizo and Jason Wu will be sharing with us.  Take a look at Brizo’s current offering http://www.brizo.com/newproducts/index.html  and you will see beautiful, curvaceous forms with flowing elegant lines. (I’m thinking of Brizo’s “Virage” line.)

virage

Not unlike the couture designs by Jason Wu. http://www.jasonwustudio.com/

  1-jason_wu2       jason-wu-fw-0809 (1)

I’ll let you know how it goes.  Don’t know if I’ll have the opportunity to make blog entries while on the trip, but I am planning to.  If not, you’ll hear from me when I return (next Monday).  Until then –Hasta luego mis amigos!

3 responses to “Counting Down the Hours

  1. Yikes! Wouldn’t you know the eastern seaboard would be having what will likely be the worst storm in years! My flight from Dallas to NY was cancelled and rescheduled for tomorrow. I hear the other left coasters had the same issue. I’ve also heard that Brizo is trying to re-arrange their agenda to accomodate us late arrivals. I hope they can. I don’t want to miss a thing!

  2. Have the new agenda. Looks like we’ll not be able to attend the breakfast and tour we’d hoped for at the Monogram showroom. As they have changed our meeting/training session with the Brizo folks for that same time slot. This is going to be a whirlwind trip to say the least! Fingers crossed that flights do not get cancelled or delayed again.