And They’re Off!

As some of my foodie friends of the Blogger 19 know (as we’ve become affectionately known), we’ve received an invite by GE Monogram to attend the Experience Center in Louisville, Kentucky near the home of the Kentucky Derby.  Actually, I think most who haven’t previously attended have already gone to the first event last May.  I opted to go in the Fall (October 19-21) as I heard this would be after the new product rollout would occur.  It also worked out well due to family issues I don’t want to revisit.  Suffice to say the end of this year is looking a whole lot better than the beginning of it.

This is a description of the GE Monogram trip agenda that was on the invitation. 

A theater, lyceum and an art gallery all in one, the 10,000 sq. ft.
GE Monogram Experience Center offers something magnificent to see at
every turn.  In the culinary studio, wine tasting room, and other areas within
the center, you’ll  have the opportunity to experience an array of stimulating and appealing spaces- all designed to showcase the latest in Monogram innovation.

    Themes:
    – Refrigeration
    – Cooking & Venting
    – Design considerations & tips

Also on the menu is a hands-on cooking session where you’ll learn how to sauté, bake, and roast your way to a delicious meal!

Guests will stay at the award-winning hotel, 21C, in downtown Louisville.

I’ve discovered that Louisville is not only the home of the world-famous Churchill Downs, but has the nation’s largest urban forest. The Jefferson Memorial Forest is 6,000 acres.  While I expect that my time in Louisville will be packed with pre-planned events, I’m hoping to see at least a little fall color.  We don’t get much in SoCal.

I feel very blessed to have been chosen by the GE Monogram folks who are paying for this entire trip. I also appreciate my Blogger 19 friends Jamie and Paul who “cooked up” this opportunity in the first place.  Be sure to follow their blogs Jamie Goldberg’s “Gold Notes” http://jgkitchens.blogspot.com/ and Paul Anater’s “Kitchen And Residential Design” http://www.kitchenandresidentialdesign.com/.  I also just received an e-mail with a link to GE Monogram’s new gorgeous recipe website for foodies at large:  “All In Good Food” http://www.monogram.com/all-in-good-food/ that has a whole bunch more besides recipes.  Besides a blog by Chefs Joe and Brian, there is a “food casts” tab with videos, info on tools and how to use ‘em, and link to GE Monogram’s product site.

With so much going on, I can hardly keep up.  Beginning with the GE trip, which is shortly followed by the NKBA Central Coast and Valleys Chapter “Tour of Kitchens” which will showcase some fabulous homes in the area between Thousand Oaks, Santa Barbara and Santa Clarita (just above LA on the coast).   Hoping Laurie B will be able to go to the GE event.  If not, I’m looking forward to seeing her on the tour as she has volunteered as a docent at one of the homes I’ve heard. 

Next, about mid November, I MAY be closing on the purchase of a house.  And of course we all know what happens next –Lots of packing, unpacking, moving stuff, cleaning, painting and… well you know the drill.  I’m planning that this will be the last time I will ever do this.  Fortunately, the move is just across town this time.  The house is a one-story newer home on a slab.  I’m planning that someday it will be easy to adapt to my husband’s and my “twilight years” even if that means we may eventually be using a wheelchair or a walker.  For now, I’m just looking forward to not lugging laundry up and down stairs!

The grand finally will be a trip to Disneyland between Christmas and New Years.  We have four days planned and will be staying at the lovely contemporary boutique Hotel Menage that is across the street (so they say) from the parks.  We’ll be spending one day at each park –Disneyland and Calif. Adventure theme parks.  This is my gift this year to my kids and grandkids, my husband who’s never been… and ME! I’m so excited to be able to see my daughter and her family as they live in Oregon and I don’t get to see them very often.   

So, in spite of the still very slow economy, I feel very, very lucky to be able to be planning the wonderful events and trips that lie ahead this year.  I suppose if I had a plate full of projects, it wouldn’t be possible.  Even in good times, the construction business (particularly kitchen remodeling business) slows down with the holidays approaching.  Next year, I hope that I will not have time to think about travel so much because I’ll be busy working.  For now, my calendar is filled with learning opportunities and FUN! 

7 responses to “And They’re Off!

  1. Oh, that sounds like so much fun!

    I’m so glad that you switch over to WP — now I can leave comments to all your thoughtful posts! Have a lovely weekend.

  2. Thanks Kelly & Paul! It was easier than I thought. I suppose it wouldn’t have been if Windows Live hadn’t created the migrating tool… a pop up asking me when and if I wanted to migrate. Then just followed the directions. I still have no idea how I would have managed if I’d started from scratch and not lost my old posts. This worked out great!

  3. Congrats on your migration! It is quite a project!

    Good you are taking the time off now, something tells me you’re going to be way too busy to take it off next year! 🙂

  4. Thanks Friday! I hope you’re right. So many of us need to get back in the saddle. It’s got to get better.

  5. Awesome pam!! I wish i could go to GE event also but it is same time aa High Point furn mkt and i am shopping for clients and ahowroom! Will miss seeing you!! All your plans sound divine and i wish you best of luck with move!! Pictures!!

  6. Oh Cheryl, wish you were going too. Though High Point sounds wonderful too. Thanks for reminding me about the pictures. (Got to retrieve my camera from my younger son!) Not looking forward to the move… but then who does. One of those things we just get through right? I am looking forward to a kitchen I can actually cook in. While at Olive Garden this evening we were talking about some of the dishes we had that would be nice to be able to prepare at home like the Chicken & Shrimp Carbonera or the Tiramasu. Oh well, my waistline would just as soon I put it off a little longer! =)