Seaside Ensuit ~ A Collection of Renderings.

This past week I have been creating a set of renderings inspired by a single photo of a design by Gary Riggs Designs.

Gary Riggs Design

Gary Riggs Design

The imaginary scene I created included an ensuit bath overlooking “somewhere” on the California Central Coast in the late afternoon in June.  The background scene is typical of sea views at the time and season of the year in that it looks a little misty.  Like the fog is going to roll in as it usually does at night along with some wind sometimes.

Seaside Bathroom

Seaside Bathroom

Wouldn’t it be nice to sit in this foamy warm bath with scented candles watching the sun set into the fog rolling in just beyond the horizon?  You can almost hear the waves lapping at the shore on the beach below.

Seaside Bedroom

Seaside Bedroom

This is the view I created inspired by Mr. Rigg’s design.  I just love that bed!  I wanted to give it more of a “Pacific” flair with a nod to the Far East and added more seagrass and wicker items.  The colors are a bit more subdued with the colors of sand and sea.  I enjoyed the opportunity to use blue and white accent pottery.

Seaside Bedroom

Seaside Bedroom

We’ll be closing the doors soon because it tends to get a bit nippy when the wind kicks up and the fog rolls in.

I’ve added some views!  You will likely never see a space from this perspective, but 3D plan views are much more interesting to look at than line drawings.  Bird’s eye views show you the floor plan in 3D of a room.  3D axon views of floor plans show you how an ensemble of rooms are adjoined and relate to one another in scale and material textures and color:

A bird's eye view (orthographic plan view) of the bathroom.

A bird’s eye view (orthographic plan view) of the bathroom.

A 3D plan view (Axon) of the total ensemble of related rooms and spaces.

A 3D plan view (Axon) of the total ensemble of related rooms and spaces.

2 responses to “Seaside Ensuit ~ A Collection of Renderings.

    • LOLoL Thanks Kathy! I wish I were better at modeling… I’m determined to teach myself a little more with Sketchup. That model is actually concocted from a wing chair model I found in 3D Warehouse. I added the seagrass texture that I found on Google images. =)